Technical Advisory Board


Dan Jones, BSEE, MS  |  In Memoriam  |  09.01.20

Dan has over 50 years’ experience designing of all types of electric motors and generators. He is recognized as an international authority on electric motors and motion control. He is a past member of the Board of Directors of SMMA and EMERF. He currently is a member of the Board of Directors of the Motion Control Association (MCA). He is a life member of IEEE and a member of ASME. In 2014, Dan was presented by EMERF and SMMA their award for “Outstanding Contributions to the Electric Machines Industry.”


James Saikin, J.D.

Dr. Saikin is a Consulting Manager with C-suite experience in fast paced global enterprises and high-growth innovative technologies. A legally trained technologist, he consults on international strategic imperatives and business applications in financial/capital markets and Blockchain.

James is an expert in the development and monetization of new emerging technologies. He is a Speaker traveling for the Institute for the Certification of Computing Professionals (ICCP) speaking on Blockchain Strategic Value and Business Implications and other Emerging Technologies (such as, AI, Deep Learning, Machine Learning and Data Science Data Structure Principles and Management).

Darvin Schmidt, MBA

Darvin is a global, multi-lingual (English, German) operations and finance leader known for solving complex operational & financial scalability challenges, assembling collaborative teams and leveraging analytical tools and all available company assets.

He has launched, grown and exited startups, performed corporate recapitalizations and built teams that closed $700M in transaction value representing 35 public equity offerings, mergers & acquisitions and private placements for the Healthcare, Real Estate and Technology sectors while working for Arthur Anderson, Salomon Brothers, Southwest Securities and the FDIC, among others.

Raymond R. Shoults, PhD, SM, IEEE

Ray is Emeritus Professor of EE, having retired from UTA in August 2008 after serving 33 years in academia. He served as Director of the Power System Simulation Laboratory (PSSL) at the Energy Systems Research Center from 1989 to 2001. He served as Director of the Office of Sponsored Projects from 1991 through 1994 and as Associate Chairman of the Department of Electrical Engineering duringthe1994-95 academic year. He served as EE Department Chairman from 2001 through 2008. His areas of research interest include application of intelligent control concepts to Advanced Automatic Generation Control and Advanced Load Frequency Control methods, and development of Power System Simulation software.

George Bennett, BSEE, BSME

During his tenure at Western Digital Corporation as Sr. Principal Engineer in the role of system architect, he spearheaded the development of several Power LSI chips, digital control systems and integrated regulator circuitry in high performance products.